Yankee Air Museum

Yankee Air Museum Logo

Basic Information

Address: 47884 D St., Belleville, MI 48111-1126
Phone Number: 734.483.4030
Fax Number: 734.483.5076
Director: Kevin Walsh

Action Shots

* There are currently no photos associated with this listing.

Additional Information

Days and Hours: Sunday and Monday: Closed Tuesday - Saturday: 10:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Description:

The mission of the Yankee Air Museum, a non-profit 501c3 organization, is to preserve Southeast Michigan's rich history of aviation through unique historical and educational experiences through aviation themed exhibits and interactive programming. The museum features family oriented events, historic aircraft, flight simulators, hands-on aviation displays, meeting rooms, and a gift shop for the general public to enjoy.
We strive in taking education to a higher altitude! We host a number of community activities including formal education programs, Scout programs, after school clubs, summer camps, and group tours. We also offter numerous scholarships for Southeast Michigan students.

Grade Levels:
K-5
6-8
9-12
Group Type: Yankee Air Force
Disabled Access:

available

Program Type:

Field Trips: Includes tour and a movie $3 per student/$5 per adult

  • Optional Add-On: Simulator Flight Experience $5 per person
  • Field Trips of the Museum can be scheduled for any age group, pre-school through senior citizens. We can accommodate many different sized groups as well, including school groups, scout groups, clubs, and organizations. Tours of the Museum include a movie in our aviation-themed movie room and last between 1-2 hours. The movie titles and descriptions are listed below and can be chosen upon time of booking.

Programs: Includes tour, movie, and education program $13 per student/$5 per adult

  • Optional Add-On: Simulator Flight Experience $5 per person
  • Tiger Cub Programs
  • Cub Scout Programs
  • Boy Scout Program
  • Girl Scout Program
  • Higher Altitude Summer Institute
  • Afte School Programs
  • Library Presentation

Scholarships

  • Don Burke 2013 Scholarship ($1,000.00)
  • John Alden Clarck and Marie Mountain Clark Scholarship ($1,500.00)
  • Don and Yvonne Harner 2013 Scholarship ($1,000)
Accreditation: Yankee Air Force
Admission/Tickets: Walk ins: $5 Families: $8 Children under 18: Free Guided Tours: $3
Registration: Register form online
Food: snacks available
Length of Visit: vary
Student/Staff Ratio: 1 to 10
Max. Group Number: 10
Group Requirements: Tour Groups will consist of a minimum of 10 people. Admittance fees will be collected in the Museum store and a sticky admittance receipt will be issued as proof of admittance. Wearing the sticky admittance receipt will show paid museum admittance.
Return Policy: If you are dissatisfied with your order for any reason, you can return your items for a prompt refund or exchange. Refunds for items returned within thirty days of the purchase date will be credited in the same form as the original payment type. Refunds for items returned more than thirty days after the purchase date will be in the form of a credit redeemable on your next purchase. The original shipping and handling charges are not refundable. If you have an exchange for the same dollar amount as the original purchase, no additional shipping or handling charges will be incurred.
Exhibits: our different air crafts, theater, banquet room, Classroom,
Freebies: none
Gift Shop/Factory Outlet: Museum Store
Retail Store: Museum Store
Amenities: none
Videos/DVDs Shown: Andy’s Airplanes Join Andy and his ferret, Yaygrr, on their adventures circling the globe in search of adventure. Rating: G The Story of Willow Run A Ford Motor Company promotional film describing the Willow Run aircraft factory during World War II and the construction of the B-24 bomber. Rating: NA Fly Girls A PBS video documenting the more than 1000 women that signed up for the Women's Airforce Service Pilots during World War II. Rating: TV-G
Reservations Needed: not needed but available
Directions:

47884 D St., Belleville, MI 48111-1126

Nearby Attractions: Movie theaters, parks, bowling center, dining restaurants etc
Mission Statement:

The mission of the Yankee Air Museum, a non-profit 501c3 organization, is to preserve Southeast Michigan's rich history of aviation through unique historical and educational experiences through aviation themed exhibits and interactive programming. The museum features family oriented events, historic aircraft, flight simulators, hands-on aviation displays, meeting rooms, and a gift shop for the general public to enjoy.

Philosophy/Belief Statement:

none

Testimonials:

none

Facility History:

Willow Run Airport was built by the Ford Motor Company in 1941 to serve as an airfield for their B-24 Bomber Plant. This was the first aircraft manufacturing plant to use Ford's automotive mass production techniques, a leading technological innovation of the time. Ford Motor Company built 8,685 B-24s from 1942 until the end of World War II. At its peak, the Willow Run plant employed over 42,000 people and produced one B-24 every 59 minutes. The last bomber to roll off the assembly line was named the "Henry Ford." When the war was over the airport became the hub for passenger flights and air freight in the Detroit Metropolitan area.

In 1981, a group of enthusiastic people, adopting the name Yankee Air Force, shared the desire to preserve the facts and glamour of southeastern Michigan's aviation history. They began to lay plans to research, restore, and preserve the all but forgotten history of Willow Run Airport. Their initial goal was to aquire one of the original U.S. Army Air Forces hangars and restore it to its original condition. With the help of Wayne County, the owners of the airport, this first goal was accomplished and the Yankee Air Museum was born. The YAM now has two divisions, the Wurtsmith Division in Michigan and the Northeast Division in New Jersey.

Their second goal, to obtain a B-24 built at Willow Run, has proven to be a much tougher project. Over 18.000 Liberators were built and just 11 survive today, of which only 4 were built at Willow Run. In 1987, a PB4Y-2 Privateer, the Navy's single-tailed version of the B-24, was donated to the Museum for static display.

Since 1981 the Yankee Air Museum has acquired and returned to flying status five World War II aircraft. The first plane was acquired in 1981, a Douglas C-47 World War II transport which was built in 1945. The "Yankee Doodle Dandy" is the YAM's world class award-winning flagship. The B-17G "Flying Fortress" which was used in the movie "Tora!Tora!Tora!" was purchased in 1986. The "Yankee Lady" underwent extensive restoration and was returned to flying status in 1995. The B-25D "Mitchell", a medium-duty bomber similar to the type used in Jimmy Doolittle's raid on Tokyo, was acquired in 1987. The "Yankee Warrior" saw combat in World War II and is one of only two B-25Ds still flying today.These aircraft are flown and displayed at numerous air shows from May through September. They are the pride of the Yankee Air Museum.

. On October 9, 2004, the Yankee Air Museum at Willow Run Airport suffered a terrible fire that destroyed the historic hangar housing the museum. Through the heroic efforts of a few members, the beautifully restored B-17, C-47 and B-25 aircraft were moved out of the building before the fire reached them, thus saving the heart of the collection. In addition, all the historic aircraft on display outside of the main building were untouched by the fire. The museum did, however, lose virtually all of the tooling, equipment and spare parts for all of the aircraft plus all of the office and display fixtures and equipment totaling well over $1,000,000 in replacement value. While thousands of irreplaceable artifacts, photos and books were also lost in the fire, the Volunteers at the museum are thankful that the aircraft collection remains largely intact. Only a small number of non-flyable aircraft that were in restoration inside the hanger were lost.

The Yankee Air Museum members, staff and volunteers immediately began to recover and rebuild. The aircraft, which continued their flight schedules after the fire, were moved into a hangar loaned by the Wayne County Airport Authority that manages Willow Run Airport. The volunteers and staff set up an office at the Airport and continued the operation of the Museum. Their mission was to continue the great work that was begun in 1981 by a small group of visionaries who were dedicated to preserving this important piece of aviation and Southeastern Michigan history.

The Michigan Aerospace Foundation (MAF) was formed as a sister organization of the Yankee Air Museum to plan and fund future expansion of the new Museum facilities. They met with architects and Willow Run Airport management just a few days after the fire and were given the go ahead to begin the planning process to lead to the construction of a new hangar and Museum.

Then in 2007, the hard work, dedication, planning and fund raising for the new Yankee Air Museum began to bear fruit. A ground breaking ceremony for the new Yankee Air Museum was held in April 2007 at the Air Park. A schoolhouse that was built by Henry Ford in 1938 and used during WW2 as an officer's club had been donated to the Museum. Shortly after the ground breaking, it was moved to its new location on A Street on the east side of the Airport. After much work, the Yankee Air Museum David and Andrea Robertson Education Center was dedicated and opened for business in June 2010. The Education Center is used for a variety of education activities including Scouting programs and Summer Camp.

In 2009, to re-establish the actual Museum that was lost in 2004, the Yankee Air Museum purchased a building from the Michigan Institute of Aviation and Technology (MIAT). The building is on D Street on the east side of the Airport and south of the Education Center. In October 2010, six years to the day of the fire, The Yankee Air Museum Collections & Exhibits Building was dedicated and opened to the public. The new facility is 47,000 sq. ft. and houses permanent and rotating aviation and historical displays, restoration projects, a retail store and a movie theatre that is available to the public. The "Headquarters" is also home to Yankee Air Museum staff and volunteers and has meeting rooms and banquet facilities for rent, machine shops and storage space for the Museum collection. An outside area next to the Museum is the new home of the Air Park.

We are now working on raising the funds and doing the planning for a new home for our flyable aircraft. The new hangar for the B-17 "Yankee Lady", B-25 "Yankee Warrior" and C-47 "Yankee Doodle Dandy" will be built at the corner of A Street and 3rd Street, adjoining both the Education Center and the new Collections & Exhibits building. A design for the hangar has been selected and we are currently in negotiation with the Airport and various local government authorities regarding site work. The goal is to break ground for the new hangar in 2013.

Social Networking:

none

Additional Information:

none