Policy changing over time

There have been major changes in the appropriations for this portion of NCLB. As you can see in the list below, major appropriations were made from 2004-2006. Then, this portion of the act stopped getting all funding from 2007-2009. Finally, the Dropout Prevention Act received $50,000,000 in 2010 to use for school appropriations.
Fiscal Year 2010 $50,000,000 Fiscal Year 2009 $0 Fiscal Year 2008 $0 Fiscal Year 2007 $0 Fiscal Year 2006 $4,851,000 Fiscal Year 2005 $4,930,240 Fiscal Year 2004 $4,970,500

The following were grant award recipients for FY2010:
The School District of Palm Beach County (Florida)
San Antonio Independent School District (Texas)
Syracuse City School District (New York)
St. Louis Public Schools
Allentown School District (Pennsylvania)
The School District of the City of Pontiac (Michigan)
The Colorado Department of Education
Clark County School District (Nevada)
The School Board of Broward County (Florida)
The Los Angeles Unified School District
Hartford School District (Connecticut)
The Mobile County Public School System (Alabama)
Sunnyside, Mabton and Mt. Adams School Districts (Washington)
The West 40 Intermediate Service Center #2 (Illinois)
Pasadena Unified School District (California)
Lincoln Public Schools (Nebraska)
Greene, Jones, and Thomaston-Upson County Schools (Georgia)
Bloom Township High School District (Illinois)
The Massachusetts Department of Education
Chicago Public Schools (CPS)
Haverhill High School (Massachusetts)
Des Moines Independent Community School District (Iowa)
The Davenport Community School District (Iowa)
Washoe County School District (Nevada)
St. Clair County (Illinois)
Multnomah County (Oregon)
Riverside County (California)
Seattle Public Schools
Salem-Keizer School District (Oregon)

The following were grant award recipients for FY2006:
The Arizona Department of Education
Texas Education Agency

The following were grant award recipients for FY2005:
The Minnesota Department of Education
The New Hampshire Department of Education