Minnesota State High School Mathematics League

The Minnesota State High School Mathematics League is a high school mathematics league in the state of Minnesota. It was founded in 1980 by Macalester College professor Wayne Roberts. The league holds five statewide tournaments per year from November through February, as well as a state tournament in March.

The problems posed are divided into five events - Individuals A, B, C, and D, and the team event. Events A, B, C, and D usually consist of prealgebra, geometry, trigonometry, and precalculus topics respectively. The team event is a mix of all four.

Each team member chooses to compete in two individual events, and all team members compete in the team event. Each high school chooses its eight top members, including at least two freshmen or sophomores, as its "varsity" team. This is the team that actually racks up points in the name of the school; the other students simply compete for themselves. Each individual event contains one one point question and three two point questions, so the maximum a person may score per meet is fourteen points. The team events each contain six questions worth four points each. A team's score is determined by adding the individual scores of the varsity members and the varsity team score. At the end of the season, the team with the highest score in each conference continues to the state tournament.

Website: http://www.macalester.edu/mathleague/