National Geographic Bee

The National Geographic Bee (previously called the National Geography Bee) is an annual geography contest sponsored by the National Geographic Society. The Bee, held every year since 1989, is open to students in the fourth through eighth grade in participating American schools.

The national finals air, tape-delayed, on the National Geographic Channel and local PBS stations. The winner of the finals receives a $25,000 scholarship, second place $15,000 and third place $10,000.

The fifty-five states and other entities represented at the national level are all fifty states, Puerto Rico, the U.S. Virgin Islands, U.S. territories in the Pacific (Northern Mariana Islands and Guam), American Samoa and the Department of Defense Dependents Schools.