Education in Arizona

Elementary and secondary education
Public schools in Arizona are separated into about 220 local school districts which operate independently, but are governed in most cases by elected county school superintendents; these are in turn overseen by the Arizona State Board of Education (a division of the Arizona Department of Education) and the state Superintendent of Public Instruction (elected in partisan elections every even-numbered year when there is not a presidential election, for a four-year term). In 2005, a School District Redistricting Commission was established with the goal of combining and consolidating many of these districts.

Higher education
Arizona is served by three public universities: The University of Arizona, Arizona State University, and Northern Arizona University. These schools are governed by the Arizona Board of Regents.

Private higher education in Arizona is dominated by a large number of for-profit and "chain" (multi-site) universities. Only one traditional (single-site, non-profit, four-year) private college exists in Arizona (Prescott College). Arizona has a wide network of two-year vocational schools and community colleges. These colleges were governed historically by a separate statewide Board of Directors but, in 2002, the state legislature transferred almost all oversight authority to individual community college districts. The Maricopa County Community College District includes 11 community colleges throughout Maricopa County and is one of the largest in the nation.

Public universities in Arizona
    Arizona State University, (Sun Devils) Tempe/Phoenix/Mesa
    Northern Arizona University, (Lumberjacks) Flagstaff/Yuma
    University of Arizona, (Wildcats) Tucson/Sierra Vista and UA Agricultural Center in Yuma

Private colleges and universities in Arizona
    American Indian College
    Apollo College
    Art Center College of Design
    Art Institute of Tucson
    Art Institute of Phoenix
    A.T. Still University
    Brown Mackie College
    Collins College
    Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University
    Grand Canyon University
    International Baptist College
    Lamson College
    Midwestern University
    Northcentral University
    Ottawa University
    University of Phoenix
    Phoenix School of Law
    Prescott College
    Southwest College of Naturopathic Medicine
    Southwestern College
    Thunderbird School of Global Management
    University of Advancing Technology
    Western Governors University
    Western International University

Community colleges
    Arizona Western College
    Central Arizona College
    Cochise College
    Coconino Community College
    Diné College
    Eastern Arizona College
    Chandler-Gilbert Community College
    Estrella Mountain Community College
    GateWay Community College
    Glendale Community College
    Maricopa County Community College District
    Mesa Community College
    Mohave Community College
    Northland Pioneer College
    Paradise Valley Community College
    Phoenix College
    Pima Community College
    Rio Salado Community College
    Scottsdale Community College
    South Mountain Community College
    Yavapai College