Stages of Education

The different stages of education are the same in all communities:
Basic education (Dutch: basisonderwijs; French: enseignement fondamental), consisting of
Preschool education (kleuteronderwijs; enseignement maternel): -6 years
Primary school (lager onderwijs; enseignement primaire): 6-12 years
Secondary education (secundair onderwijs; enseignement secondaire): 12-18 years
Higher education (hoger onderwijs; enseignement supérieur)
University (universiteit; université)
Polytechnic/Vocational university (hogeschool; haute école)