Education stages

Preschool encompasses non-compulsory classroom-based early-childhood education prior to the age of five to six. Many community-based programs, commercial enterprises, non-profit organizations, faith communities, and independent childcare providers offer preschool education. Preschool may be general or may have a particular focus, such as arts education, religious education, sports training, or foreign language learning, along with providing general education.

Botswana government as of 2015 has started opening early childhood education programs in many governmental primary schools in order to promote the education of young children. This started by opening a half-year pre-school class after the standard 7 students had finished writing their final exams. Their classrooms would be unoccupied for the rest of the academic year, so this way they could accommodate the 5-year-old children. Proceeding that, the government is now implementing a two-year program for children aged 4 and 5 years old. Moreover government of Botswana also paying more attention to early childhood education.

Primary Education
Curriculum in primary education is determined by county school system. The school district selects curriculum guides and textbooks that reflect a state's learning standards and benchmarks for a given grade level. There are two types of primary education accessible in Botswana. The government provides education that is generally referred to as 'Setswana medium', the medium of instruction being Setswana as well as English. The private sector provides education whereby the language of instruction is purely English, these schools are referred to as 'English medium schools'.

Children enroll in primary school around the age of 6. Primary education ranges from standard 1 up to standard 7.

Secondary Education
Students are usually given more independence, moving to different classrooms for different subjects, and being allowed to choose some of their class subjects (electives)

Higher education
The University of Botswana, Botho University, Limkokwing University of Creative Technology are the institutions that offer university education in the country. The University of Botswana is the national university which was established in 1982 by act of parliament and is headquartered at Gaborone.