Early Childhood Education

The early childhood development education is organized in kindergartens, which are not compulsory. There are three stages of early childhood education:
from when the child is 6 months old to when they're one
from the ages of one to three
from the age of three until the child stars attending primary school

Even though these three stages are not compulsory, every child must attend kindergarten for a year prior to primary school.

There are over 450 kindergartens in the country; most of them are state-run, although there are also private ones. There are many kindergartens integrated with primary schools.