Types of School

There are three types of school: state, private (or registered or independent) and state integrated schools. State and state integrated schools are government funded. Private schools receive about 25% of their funding from the government, and rely on tuition fees for the rest. State integrated schools are former private schools which are now "integrated" into the state system under the Private Schools Conditional Integration Act 1975 "on a basis which will preserve and safeguard the special character of the education provided by them". According to Ministry of Education statistics, of the 284,052 secondary students (Years 9-15) enrolled in New Zealand schools at 1 July 2012, 81.6 percent (231,817) attend state schools, 12.6 percent (35,924) attend state integrated schools, and 5.7 percent (16,230) attend private schools.

Many private schools, state area schools and state integrated schools take students from Years 0 to 13, or Years 7 to 13