Primary school to higher education are primarily funded and overseen by three governmental ministries.[3]
Ministry of Education: for schools, pirivenas (schools for Buddhist priests), teachers training colleges and colleges of education

Department of Examinations: National examination service
Ministry of Higher Education & Highways: for universities
Ministry of Education Services: for supplying the physical facilities required for general education
Ministry of Skills Development and Vocational Training: for vocational education and technical colleges

Exceptions to this system exist -- mostly when it comes to tertiary with several public universities and institutes coming under the purview of different ministries. These divisions have led to a high degree of mismanagement and inefficiency over the years.