Education System

There are three types of schools from perspective of gender in the Palestinian territories: boys' schools (37%), girls' schools (35%), and co-educational schools (29%).

In the Palestinian territories education system, compulsory basic education includes Grades 1 to 10 and this is divided into the preparatory stage (Grades 1 to 4) and the empowerment stage (Grades 5 to 10). Secondary education (general secondary education and a few vocational secondary schools) covers Grades 11 and 12. In tertiary education, there are 11 universities (10 private and one public) and 11 technical colleges (4 Palestinian Authority, 2 UNRWA, 4 public and 1 private), all of which mainly offer four-year courses. Additionally, there are 19 community colleges (1 Palestinian Authority, 9 public, 2 UNRWA, and 7 private) that mainly offer two-year diploma courses in technical and commercial specializations.

The first refugee camp schools for were established by the Red Cross in 1949. First UNRWA elementary six-year schools befun in 1959-60 school year. UNRWA schools offer Grades 1 to 10 and do not provide secondary education (Grade 11 and 12). UNRWA's education provision has played a major role in Palestinian territories education since 1967.

Even if students in Grade 1 to 3 do not achieve well, they are not to repeat a grade at that level by the ministry policy. However, students in Grades 4 to 12 are to repeat by the ministry regulations (maximum of 5 percent of a class cohort), which is based on the students' total average achievement score for a year. There is no remedial teaching for the students nominated to repeat during their repeated year.