Autonomy and Deregulation

In an effort to rationalize its supervision of institutions of higher learning, CHED has also prescribed guidelines for granting privileges of autonomy and deregulation to certain schools. According to the guidelines, the general criteria examined by CHED are an institution's "long tradition of integrity and untarnished reputation", "commitment to excellence", and "sustainability and viability of operations".

Autonomous status
Autonomous status allows universities to design their own curricula, offer new programs and put up branches or satellite campuses without having to secure permits, confer honorary degrees, and carry out operations without much interference from CHED. Aside from all host state colleges and universities and other chartered public universities, such as the University of the Philippines, Polytechnic University of the Philippines, Mindanao State University and Pamantasan ng Lungsod ng Maynila, fifty-three (53) private higher education institutions (HEIs) have been granted autonomous status, which are:

CHED regularly reviews its list of autonomous institutions, with the latest published list valid until 31 May 2014. HEIs granted autonomous status shall enjoy benefits accorded to autonomous institutions until the specified date of validity or unless such status is revoked or suspended.

Deregulated status
Higher Education Institutions (HEIs) with deregulated status enjoy the same privilege as autonomous HEIs, but they must still secure permits for new programs and campuses.

CHED regularly updates its list of autonomous institutions with the latest published list valid until 31 May 2014. As at that date 15 deregulated HEIs were listed by CHED.