Doña Ana County

Doña Ana County Logo

Basic Information

Address: 845 N. Motel Blvd. Las Cruces, NM 88007
Phone Number: (575) 647-7200
Fax Number: (575) 525-5812
Person of Contact: Jess Williams, Director of Public Information
County Seat: Las Cruces, NM

Action Shots

Doña Ana County

* Click each thumbnail for a larger version.

Additional Information

Year Organized: 1852
Square Miles: 3,815
Size of Board: 5 Board of County Commissioners
Townships: Berino, Chamberino, Chaparral, Doña Ana, Fairacres, Garfield, Hatch, La Mesa, La Union, Mesilla, Mesquite, Organ, Placitas, Radium Springs, Rincon, Rodey, Salem, San Miguel, San Pablo, San Ysidro, Santa Teresa, University Park, Vado, White Sands
Cites: Anthony, Las Cruces, Sunland Park
School Districts: Las Cruces Public Schools, Gadsden Independent School District, Hatch Valley Public Schools
Population: 213,460 (2013)
Additional Information:

Doña Ana County is one of 33 counties in the state of New Mexico.  It was created in 1852 and is the second-most populated county in the state.  The county seat, Las Cruces, has been ranked as one of the fastest-growing communities in the United States for the past decade.  Doña Ana County's 800+ employees are proud participants in the national Character Counts! initiative to promote ethics in the workplace.

Mission Statement:

Doña Ana County government enhances the health, safety, and quality of life for all residents as determined by law and community interests. Services are provided through innovative leadership and teamwork in a fair, respectful and professional manner.

Guiding Principles:
1) Functions of Government: Elected officials, managers, employees, and volunteers work together and with entities in a spirit of mutual respect and public service to carry out the functions of county government in a manner that is courteous, efficient, transparent, accountable, engaged, and responsive to public input.

2) Area Development:  Throughout Doña Ana County - from the smallest colonia to the City of Las Cruces - development will be proactively managed so that land use, transportation, utilities, affordable housing, and public facilities are fully integrated, mutually supportive, and respectful of the unique qualities of each communtiy.

3) Health Care and Medical Services:  All people living in Doña Ana County will have access to affordable health care and medical services that focus on emergencies, preventative strategies, and eliminating injury and disease that lead to premature death and disability.

4) Economic Development:  Economic development will be supported in all areas of the county and for all segments of the population so that communities throughout the county are viable, a diversified growth strategy is maintained, and every resident can find work that supports a good standard of living.

5) Public Safety:  Doña Ana County will be known as a safe place for residents, workers and visitors based on the effective reduction of serious crimes, risk of fire, and harm from environmental hazards - both natural and man-made.

6) Infrastructure:  Roads, utilities, flood control structures, public facilties, and other infrastructure systems will be planned, built, and maintained to address critical needs, and maximize economic viability for government entities, taxpayers, and businesses.

7) Community-oriented Values:  Life in Doña Ana County will be enhanced by broad-based support for community-oriented values, such as: the arts and life-long learning, a wide range of recreational opportunities, humane treatment of animals, compassionate care for those in need, conservation of the area's natural environment, respect for diversity and protection of human rights, and celebration of our multi-cultural heritage.