Applegate/Jackson/Parks Future Teacher Scholarship

Basic Information

Administrator: Cathy Jones
Scholarship Sponsor: National Institute for Labor Relations Research
Address: 5211 Port Royal Rd., Springfield, VA 22151
Phone Number: 703-321-9606
Fax Number: 703-321-7143

Action Shots

* There are currently no photos associated with this listing.

Additional Information

Amount of Scholarship: $1,000.00
Number of Awards: 1
Available to Class Level: rising highs school senior, college freshman to graduate in higher education
Requirements: The scholarship is awarded on the basis of scholastic ability and a demonstrated interest in the Institute's work. Applicants must also: (a) Demonstrate potential for the successful completion of the educational requirements in a college or university Department of Education program and the potential of a successful application for a teaching license; and submit a transcript of grades. (b) Demonstrate an understanding of the principles of voluntary unionism and the problems of compulsory unionism in relation to education by writing an original essay of approximately 500 words.
Eligibility: student must be attending an institution of higher learning in the United States, any state
Minimum GPA: n/a
Minimum ACT: n/a
Minimum SAT: n/a
Due Date: postmarked or datestamped by midnight 12/31 of each calendar year
Purpose of Award: The Applegate/Jackson/Parks Future Teacher Scholarship honors three Michigan public school teachers who were fired for no other reason than their refusal to pay union dues. One $1,000 scholarship is awarded annually to the education student who best exemplifies the dedication to principle and high professional standards of Carol Applegate, Kay Jackson, and Dr. Anne Parks.
Duration: One year
Renewable: no
Need-based Scholarship: no
Applicaiton Online: yes
Application Fees: n/a
Scholarship History: Established in 1989.