Herbert Hoover Uncommon Student Award

Herbert Hoover Uncommon Student Award Logo

Basic Information

Administrator: Delene McConnaha
Scholarship Sponsor: Herbert Hoover Presidential Library Association
Address: 302 Parkside Drive, West Branch, IA 52358
Phone Number: 800-828-0475; 319-643-5327
Fax Number: 643-2391

Action Shots

Herbert Hoover Uncommon Student Award
Herbert Hoover Uncommon Student Award
Herbert Hoover Uncommon Student Award
Herbert Hoover Uncommon Student Award

* Click each thumbnail for a larger version.

Additional Information

Amount of Scholarship: $1,000 and $5,000
Number of Awards: 15-$1,000; 3-$5,000
Available to Class Level: Junior
Requirements: Project Based award Junior in an Iowa High School or Home School program Attend June weekend in West Branch Attend October Presentation Day in West Branch
Eligibility: Junior in Iowa High School
Minimum GPA: Not applicable
Minimum ACT: Not applicable
Minimum SAT: Not applicable
Due Date: March 31, 2011
Purpose of Award: To encourage young Iowans to invest their talents and energies in their school, communities and beyond; promoting personal growth, maturity and self-confidence while making a difference in people's lives. The award also honors Herbert Hoover, an Iowa native and 31st President of the United States
Renewable: No
Need-based Scholarship: No
Applicaiton Online: Yes
Application Fees: No
Scholarship History: The program began in 1997 based on Herbert Hoover's Uncommon Man speech.

The USA changed so many things in my life. It presented and opened up many doors. I honestly feel that had I not been a USA student and scholarship winner, that I would not be where I am today. It gave me the courage to pursue many goals in my life and the confidence that I could accomplish them.-- Stephany Robinson

As a junior in high school I led the effort to improve my town's tennis and basketball courts. I then went on to organize a 3 on 3 basketball tournament for the city's annual celebration. After college, I applied for a job with the City of Ames Parks and Recreation Department. As I created my resume and completed the application I struggled with mentioning my Hoover project because it had been almost 5 years. I listed being a Hoover Uncommon Student on my resume. During my interview I was able to explain my project and also educate the interviewers on what it meant to be a Hoover Uncommon Student. After I graduated from Minnesota State, I accepted a position with the City of Ames Parks and Recreation Department as a Recreation Coordinator. I was picked out of 140+ applicants. I was later told that a big reason I stood out was because of the work I did as a junior in high school. I want to congratulate you all and to encourage you to continue to stand out in a crowd. Use being an Uncommon Student to your advantage. In today's tough economic conditions it may be the deciding factor. -- Libby Gemberling

I just want to thank everyone involved in this experience as a whole for allowing me this opportunity to be uncommon. The project itself was difficult, to say the least, but it was on of the most fun and rewarding experiences of my life. I feel honored to call myself a Herbert Hoover Uncommon Scholar. One again, thank you all so much.-- John Freude

Additional Information:

In the spring of their junior year, students submit a project proposal and two letters of recommendation. Approximately 15 finalists are selected based on the ambitious nature of the stated project goal and detailed plans to reach that goal.

Applicants’ grades and test scores are not the basis of the judges’ decision.
On June 11-12, 2011, finalists are required to come to the Herbert Hoover Presidential Library-Museum in West Branch (just east of Iowa City) to meet each other and learn more about Herbert Hoover and the program that carries his name. This is a fun, free weekend, with no presentations.
On October 22, finalists are required to return to West Branch to give oral presentations about their projects to a selection committee and audience members. Finalists receive a $1,000 award at that time. Three students are chosen to receive $5,000 scholarships for study at an accredited two- or four-year college or university anywhere in the country.