Regional School Unit 24

Basic Information

Address: Central Offices: 248 State Street, Suite 3A, Ellsworth, ME 04605
Phone Number: (207)667-8136
Fax Number: (207)667-6493
Superintendent: William Webster, Jr.

Action Shots

* There are currently no photos associated with this listing.

Additional Information

Member Schools: Beech Hill School, Cave Hill Elementary, Ella Lewis School, Ellworth Elementary Middle School, Ellsworth High School, Hancock Grammar School, Lamoine Consolidated School, Mountain View Elementary, Peninsula School, Sumner Memorial High School, Hancock County Technical Center
Board of Directors: 14 Members representing surrounding communities
Mission Statement:

The Mission of RSU 24 is educating students to be engaged, competent, life-long learners by ensuring opportunities to attain excellence.

District Characteristics: Located in Down East Maine, RSU 24 communities are experiencing growth and prosperity and are easily accessible to Bangor and the Bar Harbor (Acadia National Park) area.
School Municipalities: The district includes the twelve municipalities of Eastbrook, Ellsworth, Franklin, Gouldsboro, Hancock, Lamoine, Mariaville, Sorrento, Steuben, Sullivan, Waltham and Winter Harbor.
Consolidation: Regional School Unit 24 became operational on July 1, 2009.
Belief Statements:

Our Vision

Our School Climate and Culture includes
• State-of-the-art facilities that are inviting and conducive to learning.
• Support for students to meet academic and behavioral expectations that are clearly communicated and consistently enforced.
• Caring and trusting relationships where differences are respected.
• An environment that supports the physical and emotional health of all students and staff.
• Visible recognition and celebration of success.

Our High Expectations of Teaching and Learning are demonstrated by
• Common, rigorous and viable curriculum that meets the need of all students.
• High quality teachers who inspire students, use data to inform instruction and continuously improve their craft.
• Learning environments that challenge and promote high academic and behavioral standards for all.
• An accountability system that is data driven and provides evaluative measures of teacher and student performance.
• Providing multiple pathways to achieve mastery of standards and basic life skills.

Our Collaboration with our Communities is demonstrated through
• All stakeholders (parents, students, staff, community and board) consistently work together and share resources to attain common goals.
• Recognition that the RSU includes both the larger community and local schools with individual strengths, all of which benefit from each other.
• Utilization of community resources RSU-wide including community agencies and students themselves.
• An awareness that schools need the community as much as the community needs the schools.
• Frequent, open, sustained communication with all stakeholders of the RSU.


The district serves approximately 2,600 students and provides excellent opportunities for professional growth. The District includes two high schools, a vocational center and nine elementary schools.