Higher Education in Cyprus

Higher, or tertiary education is provided by a network of state and private universities and colleges. Private universities were first accredited in 2005 and require a special licence to operate and award degrees. This was set out in the 2005 Private Universities law.

Currently the following universities have a licence by the Ministry of Education and Culture to issue academic degrees:

Public Universities
University of Cyprus
Open University of Cyprus
Cyprus University of Technology

Private Universities
European University Cyprus
Frederick University
Neapolis University
University of Nicosia

Private Colleges
City Unity College Nicosia
Ledra College Nicosia
Cyprus Institute of Marketing Nicosia
Cyprus International Institute of Management