J. William Fulbright Prize for International Understanding

The J. William Fulbright Prize for International Understanding, established in 1993, is awarded by the Fulbright Association to recognize individuals or organisations which have made extraordinary contributions toward bringing peoples, cultures, or nations to greater understanding of others.

The recipients are listed below.

Person Year Country
Nelson Mandela 1993 South Africa
Jimmy Carter 1994 United States
Franz Vranitzky 1995 Austria
Corazon Aquino 1996 Philippines
Václav Havel 1997 Czech Republic
Patricio Aylwin 1998 Chile
Mary Robinson 1999 Ireland
Martti Ahtisaari 2000 Finland
Kofi Annan 2001 Ghana
Sadako Ogata 2002 Japan
Fernando Henrique Cardoso 2003 Brazil
Colin Powell 2004 United States
Bill Clinton 2006 United States
Desmond Tutu 2008 South Africa
Bill and Melinda Gates Foundation 2010 United States
Médecins Sans Frontières 2012 France
Hans Blix 2014 Sweden
Richard Lugar 2016 United States
Angela Merkel 2018 Germany