TAFE Colleges by State/Territory

In most cases, TAFE campuses are grouped into TAFE institutions along geographic lines. Most TAFEs are given a locally recognised region of the country where they exclusively operate covering a wide range of subjects.

A few TAFEs specialise in a single area of study. These are usually found near the middle of the capital cities, and service the whole state or territory. For example, the Trade and Technician Skills Institute in Brisbane, (from 1 July 2006), specialises in automotive, building and construction, manufacturing and engineering, and electrical/electronic studies for students throughout Queensland. Or the William Angliss Institute of TAFE in Melbourne which specialises in food, hospitality and tourism courses for Victoria.

Australian Capital Territory
In the Australian Capital Territory these include:
Canberra Institute of Technology

New South Wales
There are ten TAFE NSW Institutes in NSW which include:
Hunter Institute
Illawarra Institute
New England Institute
North Coast Institute
Northern Sydney Institute
Riverina Institute
South Western Sydney Institute
Sydney Institute
Western Institute
Western Sydney Institute, including OTEN

Northern Territory
In the Northern Territory these include:
Charles Darwin University
Batchelor Institute of Indigenous Tertiary Education

In Queensland, TAFE Queensland includes:
As of May 2014, the TAFE institutes have amalgamated into six regions of the central TAFE Queensland (parent body). The regions of TAFE Queensland are:

Brisbane (formerly Brisbane North Institute of TAFE, Metropolitan South Institute of TAFE and Southbank Institute of Technology)
Gold Coast (formerly Gold Coast Institute of TAFE)
East Coast (formerly Sunshine Coast Institute of TAFE and Wide Bay Institute of TAFE)
South West (formerly Bremer Institute of TAFE and Southern Queensland Institute of TAFE)
North (formerly Barrier Reef Institute of TAFE, Mount Isa Institute of TAFE and Tropical North Queensland TAFE)
SkillsTech (formerly SkillsTech Australia)

South Australia
In South Australia:

In Tasmania, there are two government TAFE organisations:
TAFE Tasmania includes:

Institute of TAFE Tasmania (general)
Drysdale Institute (for tourism and hospitality)
Australian Maritime College TAFE (maritime studies)

In Victoria these include:
Bendigo Regional Institute of TAFE (Local: Bendigo-Echuca)
Box Hill Institute of TAFE (Local: Eastern Melbourne, Specialist: Short courses)
Chisholm Institute (Local: South East Melbourne)
East Gippsland Institute of TAFE (Local: East Gippsland)
Central Gippsland Institute of TAFE (Local: West and South Gippsland, Specialist: High-voltage electrical)
Gordon Institute of TAFE (Local: Geelong)
Goulburn Ovens Institute of TAFE (Local: North East Victoria)
Holmesglen Institute of TAFE (Local: Eastern Melbourne)
Kangan Institute (Local: North West Melbourne, Specialist: Automotive, Fashion)
Melbourne Polytechnic (Local: Northern and inner East Melbourne, Specialist: Equine, Aquaculture, Agriculture, Viticulture, Music)
RMIT University (Specialist: Various)
South West Institute of TAFE (Local: Western District)
Sunraysia Institute of TAFE (Local: North West Victoria)
Swinburne University of Technology (Local: Eastern Melbourne)
University of Ballarat (Local: Ballarat-Wimmera)
Victoria University (Local: Western Melbourne)
William Angliss Institute of TAFE (Specialist: Hospitality)
Wodonga Institute of TAFE (Local: Wodonga, Specialist: Driving)
The University of Melbourne discontinued its TAFE arm (which specialised in agriculture and forestry) at the start of 2007.

Western Australia
North Metropolitan TAFE (Formerly Central Institute of Technology & West Coast Institute of Training)
South Metropolitan TAFE (Formerly Challenger Institute of Technology & Polytechnic West)
Central Regional TAFE (Formerly Durack Institute of Technology, Goldfields Institute of Technology & C. Y. O'Connor Institute)
South Regional TAFE (Formerly South West Institute of Technology & Great Southern Institute of Technology)
North Regional TAFE (Formerly Kimberley TAFE & Pilbara Institute)