Higher Education in Northwest Territories

Higher education in the Northwest Territories traces the development and expansion of higher education in Canada's Northwest Territories. In Canada, education is a provincial or territorial concern and there is no national regulation nor accrediting body.

There is only one post-secondary institution in the NWT: Aurora College.

The former Arctic College was split into Aurora College and Nunavut Arctic College when Nunavut Territory was created in 1999. Aurora College has campuses in Inuvik, Fort Smith and Yellowknife. It has learning centres in many other communities in the NWT.

There has been an evolution of the land area which comprises the North-West Territories since it was first created in 1870. This article has some chronology of the higher education of the Northwest Territories before the separation of Nunavut in 1999.