Universities in Mauritius

Open University of Mauritius
The Open University of Mauritius (OU) was established on 12 July 2012 according to the Open University of Mauritius ACT 2010. OU delivers education to learners who wish to study full-time as well as to those who are unable to be physically present on campus. With flexible study options, its learners can study from home, work, or anywhere in the world. The Mauritius College of the Air, which was established in 1971, has integrated with the Open University of Mauritius in July 2012. OU is a member of the Association of Commonwealth Universities, International Council for Open and Distance Education, and African Council for Distance Education.

In collaboration with other universities it offers courses both on open/distance/blended and full-time learning modes. There are three campuses in Mauritius and one in Rodrigues.

Distance learners watch or listen to materials supplied, work on course activities and assignments with support from the tutor who is an email away. Tutorials are organized but they are mostly optional and give a chance to meet the tutors and fellow learners. Through its virtual classrooms, international learners also participate in interactive sessions conducted by its resource persons. It also offers short courses that help to improve the employability skills.

OU offers qualifications ranging from short employability courses, B.Sc./B.Ed., M.Sc./M.Ed./M.A, MBA to DBA/Ph.D. to fields including Management, Business Administration, Human Resource Management/Development, Education, Finance, Accounting, Taxation, Law, Graphics Design, Journalism, Multimedia, Audio-visual Production, Translation Studies, Mathematics, Logistics, Transport, French and English.

OU conducts corporate training for private and public institutions. Employees are empowered through continuous professional development courses.

OU has a School of Public Health; a Centre for Research on Interculturality; and a Big Data Research Centre. http://www.open.ac.mu

Greenwich University Pakistan, Mauritius Branch Campus
The Mauritius Branch Campus of Greenwich University (Pakistan) is located in at 51, Ebene, Cybercity, Mauritius and fully accredited by Tertiary Education Commission of Mauritius, offering undergraduate and graduate degrees in Business Administration. The Campus is also approved by Mauritius Qualification Authority (MQA).

Greenwich University has been imparting quality higher education in Pakistan for the past 30 years. The University is recognized by the Higher Education Commission of Pakistan (HEC) and is ranked among the top 10 Business Schools of Pakistan. Greenwich University has a campus in The Republic of Mauritius, duly recognized by the Tertiary Education Commission of Mauritius (TEC), and by Mauritius Qualification Authority, Mauritius. Making it the only university from Pakistan who has an international campus duly recognized by accrediting bodies.

Greenwich University, chartered by Sindh Government of Pakistan (PAS/Legis-B-22/97 on 3 February 1998) as a Degree Awarding University and duly recognized by Higher Education Commission (HEC) of Pakistan and ranked among top 10 Business Schools of Pakistan.

Greenwich is member of Association of International Education (NAFSA), International Association of Universities (IAU), The Association of Advance Collegiate Schools in Business (AACSB), Asia Pacific Quality Network (APQN), International Network for Quality Assurance Agencies in Higher Education (INQAAHE), Association of Commonwealth Universities (ACU) and Association of MBA (AMBA).

Aberystwyth University Mauritius Branch Campus
The university is developing a campus in the Quartier Militaire, which is in its final stages of construction. The new ste will be subject to the approval of the TEC.

Aberystwyth University (Mauritius Branch Campus) is registered with the TEC to operate from the Ebene Cybercity campus.

All the courses, at undergraduate and postgraduate level, are accredited by the UK Quality Assurance Agency for Higher Education.

Aberystwyth University, established in 1872, was the first university in Wales. It was amongst the first in Britain to award degrees to women and opened the UK's first women's hall of residence in 1885. It was the first university in Wales to offer courses in a range of disciplines including computing, law, media and film, geography and in earth sciences. The world's first Department of International Politics was established by Aberystwyth University.

The University of Mauritius
Starting as the College of Agriculture, the University of Mauritius, established in 1965, dominates the Tertiary Education Sector locally. Originally, it had three Schools, namely Agriculture, Administration and Industrial Technology. It has since expanded to comprise five faculties, namely Agriculture, Engineering, Law and Management, Science, and Social Studies & Humanities.

It has a Centre for Medical Research and Studies and hosts the SSR Medical College (Sir Seewoosagur Ramgoolam Medical College). It has a Centre for Distance Education, a Centre for Information Technology and Systems, and a Consultancy Centre.

The UoM is expanding, with a student growth rate of about 10% annually. Programmes have changed steadily from sub-degree certificate/diploma levels to undergraduate and taught masters Programmes, as well as research at postgraduate level.

University of Technology, Mauritius
The University of Technology, Mauritius (UTM) Act was promulgated in May 2000 and became operational in September 2000. UTM has three schools: the School of Business Informatics and Software Engineering, the School of Public Sector Policy and Management, and the School of Sustainable Development Science.